Here Are The 4 Matric Pass Levels

Here Are The 4 Matric Pass Levels

Here Are The 4 Matric Pass Levels: Many individuals believe that passing matric requires only a 30% score, but this is not true. You can pass matric despite not achieving more than 50% in all subjects. If you are unable to meet the requirements of the National Senior Certificate, you will be considered to have failed. To pass matriculation, you must acquire the required minimum grades.

This POST will explain everything you want to know about the four matric pass levels.

Here Are The 4 Matric Pass Levels

Passing matric occurs in many levels, which you should be aware of as you study for your tests. The pass levels are also organized by achievement rating. The postsecondary education you will be eligible for is determined by your matric pass. Not every matriculate graduate is eligible to attend university. However, depending on one’s matric pass levels, there are various tertiary education possibilities to explore.

1). Bachelor’s Degree Pass Level

Bachelor’s degree pass is the highest pass level in Matric. It allows the students to apply for various Bachelor’s Degree programs at universities or colleges. Students who attain this pass can go straight into university and study degree courses of their choice. A bachelor’s pass is the dream achievement for many candidates although they might fail to meet the pass requirements.

To achieve a Bachelor’s Degree pass level, you must have the following passes:

  • 40% in your home language
  • At least 50% of the other four High Credit subjects
  • 30% in the other two subjects

Additionally, students should have at least 23 APS points to qualify for the bachelor’s degree pass. The admission point score (APS) is used to define further the pass per subject based on a specific achievement description. The highest point you can get is 7, while the lowest is 1.

However, it is important to note that different universities and other higher learning institutions have their entry requirements you should meet to be admitted into a specific program. Courses such as medicine and engineering demand higher entrance requirements since they are critical to different sectors of the economy. Therefore, if you need a bachelor’s pass in matric, you need to work hard.

2). Diploma Pass Level

A diploma pass is the second level you can get in matric. You must attain the following scores to get this pass.

  • 40% in the home language
  • 40% in four high-credit subjects
  • 30% in the other two subjects

You need to have a total of 19 APS to be awarded a diploma pass in matric. Since a diploma pass is lower than a bachelor’s pass, it allows you to pursue a diploma course or enroll at any University of Technology. Other universities offer diploma qualifications, and you can use your matric pass to pursue them.

Many people underrate a diploma pass, but it is a good achievement that can earn you a lucrative career. For example, private and TVET colleges offer qualifications that are in demand. These courses will make you marketable in the job market since they were designed to meet the growing needs of the South African economy. When you get a diploma course, you can always upgrade it if you want to go up the ladder.

3). Higher Certificate Pass Level

A higher certificate pass level is the third you can get in your matric exams. You need to attain the following passes.

  • At least 40% in your home language
  • 40% in two other subjects
  • 30% in two other subjects

A total of 15 APS points in your overall subjects. With a higher certificate pass, you can study at any college or pursue a certificate course. Many institutions in South Africa offer Higher Certificate Study courses which you can consider. For instance, TVET, private, and other universities offer higher certificate studies, and these are equally good since they are aligned to meet the needs of the South African economy.

4). Senior Certificate Pass Level

A senior certificate pass level is also known as the basic matric pass. You must have the following scores to pass your matric.

  • A minimum of 40% in your home language
  • At least 40% in the other two subjects
  • 30% in the other four subjects

To attain the National Senior Certificate, you must have a total of 14 APS. This pass level is the main qualification in South Africa upon completion of secondary education for many people. If you complete your Grade 12 examinations, you will be awarded this pass.

The NSC is recognized across South Africa and internationally since it reflects the basic academic achievement a student can get. All countries have basic academic qualifications that must be attained at the secondary level, and South Africa has NSC. The certificate includes subjects such as sciences, mathematics, humanities, and languages. It is also used to evaluate the student’s skills and knowledge through practical assessments, coursework, and written examinations.

A National Senior Certificate is a gateway to various career opportunities, including higher education institutions. It empowers individuals to realize their professional aspirations without strictly following the academic route.

Matric is an important qualification in South African education. It governs the courses you can take at higher institutions or in other professions. Matric is separated into four pass categories, each of which is important in your career. When studying for your examinations, you should be aware of the four levels so that you can make an informed selection.