Ireland-Africa Fellowship Programme 2024-25

Deadline: 31 July, 2023

Ireland-Africa Fellowship Programme 2024-25

Applications for the Ireland-Africa Fellowship Programme 2024-25 are now open! Submit until 31 July and you could have the opportunity to pursue a master’s degree in Ireland.

The Ireland Fellows Programme enables early to mid-career professionals from eligible countries to benefit from a prestigious, world-class, quality education contributing to capacity building.

The Programme offers selected students the opportunity to undertake a fully funded one-year master’s level programme at a higher education institution (HEI) in Ireland. The award covers programme fees, flights, accommodation and living costs. The Ireland Fellows Programme promotes gender equality, equal opportunity, and welcomes diversity.

The aims of the Programme are to nurture future leaders; to develop in-country capacity to achieve national SDG goals; and to build positive relationships with Ireland.


  • Ireland is an English-speaking country which hasB been a member of the European Union since 1973.
  • Ireland is a friendly, safe, deeply welcoming country, steeped in a rich heritage and culture.
  • Ireland’s higher education system is in the top-twenty worldwide, and offers globally recognised expertise in a broad spread of programmes.
  • Ireland is a leader in the technology, biotechnology and pharmaceutical sectors, with many leading international companies choosing Ireland for the location of their European headquarters.
  • It takes independent thinkers and doers to succeed in today’s world-and it takes a pioneering creative and agile country to produce them. That country is Ireland” – Education in Ireland.

Eligible master’s level programmes are listed in a Directory when applications open and are in a wide range of areas such as environmental leadership; food security; marine management; engineering, science and technology, development studies; international relations; law; human rights; gender and equality; health; education; information systems; social policy, and business, Programmes in Ireland commence in August or September each year and, depending on the programme, will run for between 10 and 16 months.

The Ireland Fellows Programme is fully funded by the Irish Government and is offered under the auspices of the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA).


Applicants should hold an Honours bachelor’s level academic qualification with a minimum grade point average of 3.0 (4.0 scale) awarded within the last 12 years, and should not already hold a qualification at master’s level or higher. Potential applicants will require a satisfactory level of English which will be verified by English language testing.

Eligible Countries:

  • Angola
  • Burundi
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

For information: