Pemphero Mphande Malawi Short Story Competition 2023

Pemphero Mphande Malawi Short Story Competition 2023

Applications are now open for the Pemphero Mphande Malawi Short Story Competition 2023. This is the third edition of the competition and will run from 27th September, 2023. The first Competition was in 2021 where winner Emmanuel Kaisone, won the first prize of MK200,000 with his story titled “Guilt”.

You can read the story here:

The inaugural ceremony was held at Golden Peacock Hotel where four other winners were announced.

The second edition of the competition was in 2022. The ceremony was held at Mount Soche hotel where Monalisa Nkhata won the first prize of MK1,000,000 with her story titled, “Not My Daughter.”

This year the competition has diversified into two further categories to ensure more groups of writers are included at different stages of their career. There will be a Universities and Secondary Schools edition in addition to the main competition.

The main prize for this year’s competition will remain 1 million Kwacha. This year’s competition is Sponsored by Kings Foundation Schools, one of the leading educational institutions in Malawi.

Pemphero Mphande Short Story Competition 2023 (Third edition) Sponsored By Kings Foundation Schools.


1. Stories can be on any topic but must reflect Malawian lifestyle, culture and society.
2. Word limit 2,000-3,000 words.
3. Entrants must be Malawians living in Malawi, aged 16-35.
4. Story must be in Century Gothic font, font size 12 and line spacing 1.5.
5. Story must not have been published in any form before, October 30th, 2023.
6. Story must be submitted only as a PDF document.
7. On top the document here has to be the title, name of entrant, age, phone number and email address.
8. Story must be in English and must be the original work of the entrant. Plagiarism or use of AI will lead to automatic disqualification.
9. Only one entry per person will be accepted.
10. Failure to follow any of the above instructions leads to automatic disqualification.


1st Prize- MK1,000,000
2nd Prize- MK300,000
3rd Prize- MK200,000
For more information, click here